10 Replies - 1699 Views - Last Post: 06 December 2013 - 02:33 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Yet another "Am I too old....blah... blah... blah" question

Posted 06 December 2013 - 11:04 AM

Hi All,

I know most of you probably cringe when you see these questions, but, because I have been so selfless in answering the questions of others (not in these forums unfortunately) , I would now like to ask for the input of others: So here goes:

I am a burned out artist who has pursued a career in freelance illustration and creating 2D/3D assets for games for a number of years. I haven't had the level of success that I would have hoped for. I have worked really hard at developing my skills and for a multiplicity of reasons that needn't be numerated I just don't have the desire to push on.

I have no problem sitting in front of a computer 12- 13 hours a day. I have taught myself scripting languages and feel that even though it would take a herculean effort I would love to code. The problem is I'm 45 and despite the fact that I don't look it, or act it, I'm getting older.

My big quandary is, do I pursue Software development or Web development? I would love to stay in the Game industry on the Development side (not the art side) whether it be web, console, or PC but I realize that this is a stretch...I would be a super duper late bloomer. It's ridiculously saturated and the competition is fierce. So the question is what skills should I develop in the instance that game development is not a viable option. I.E what all around coding skills would enable me to integrate into other industries or do I just have all of this ass backwards in my thinking.

Now respectfully, before anyone suggests that I bite the bullet, buckle down and push my art to the next level . It's not a consideration. This is a fresh start. I'm done. This is the beginning of my second career.

Thank you for your input I appreciate it greatly. Avi

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +