Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

32 Replies - 4827 Views - Last Post: 02 February 2014 - 12:17 PM

#16 macosxnerd101  Icon User is offline

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10366
  • View blog
  • Posts: 38,403
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 07:41 AM

I've mentioned this to skyhawk133.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#17 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1865
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,278
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 09:03 AM

This is definitely a new issue, does anyone have any idea what's causing it looking at the code?

The developer that made that pop-up is no longer available and it's a little outside my area of expertise to troubleshoot. So any help is appreciated.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#18 BenignDesign  Icon User is offline

  • holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon




Reputation: 5915
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,336
  • Joined: 28-September 07

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 12:31 PM

I use FF on my laptop and have never encountered this issue there. However, when I use Chrome on my phone and this is a constant problem there (always has been). I figured it was just a mobile device issue and shrugged it off. Apparently not.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#19 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7564
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,684
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 01:08 PM

Looking at this in FF and GC, I notice that the "stem" (the arrow that points to the rep counter) is inverted in GC. Instead of being at the lower left pointing down at the counter, it's on the upper left, pointing up. This may be a useful observation to someone. I don't know what to make of it, myself.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#20 Michael26  Icon User is offline

  • DIC-head, major DIC-head
  • member icon

Reputation: 349
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,498
  • Joined: 08-April 09

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 01:15 PM

I have mixed result on that, for example on these 4 replies i have 2 up and 2 down stem arrows.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#21 jimblumberg  Icon User is online

  • member icon


Reputation: 3988
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,303
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 02:32 PM

The up or down arrows seem to be a function of the location on the screen. It seems like the down arrow is preferred unless the box won't fit on the screen. Observed, on FF and Chromium.

Jim
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#22 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3190
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,681
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 02:42 PM

Error messages on clicking in Google Chrome are:

Quote

body.scrollLeft is deprecated in strict mode. Please use 'documentElement.scrollLeft' if in strict mode and 'body.scrollLeft' only if in quirks mode. :prototype.js 3061

body.scrollTop is deprecated in strict mode. Please use 'documentElement.scrollTop' if in strict mode and 'body.scrollTop' only if in quirks mode. :prototype.js 2396


The first refers to this code:
  getScrollOffsets: function() {
    return Element._returnOffset(
      window.pageXOffset || document.documentElement.scrollLeft || document.body.scrollLeft,
      window.pageYOffset || document.documentElement.scrollTop  || document.body.scrollTop);
  }

It shouldn't reach the third part though..? If documentElement.scrollLeft is 0 then it reads the third part, so it requires an additional check that this value (and the same for scrollTop) are falsy, but not 0.
Edit: Just need to delete the third condition(s).

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 28 January 2014 - 02:51 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#23 Atli  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3710
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,958
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 02:58 PM

Seems like this is caused by an outdated version of Prototype.js. The viewportOffset function, specifically. I managed to fix this by replacing the body of that function in the library loaded on DIC with the one from the current version. (Except for the return line; it's a bit different in the outdated version.)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#24 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3190
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,681
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:01 PM

There is an option to make local modifications to JS in GC but I've never worked out how to use it. Is this any easier in FireFox (with or without FireBug) or Opera?

View PostAtli, on 28 January 2014 - 09:58 PM, said:

Seems like this is caused by an outdated version of Prototype.js. The viewportOffset function, specifically. I managed to fix this by replacing the body of that function in the library loaded on DIC with the one from the current version. (Except for the return line; it's a bit different in the outdated version.)

We could add code to bring the box back down again afterwards ;) :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#25 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7564
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,684
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:04 PM

View Postandrewsw, on 28 January 2014 - 05:01 PM, said:

We could add code to bring the box back down again afterwards


Do you think crashing the server would help? I mean, if you think it would help...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#26 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3190
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,681
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 04:06 PM

We could re-boot the internet :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#27 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7564
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,684
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 04:09 PM

Sure. Couldn't hurt, anyway.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#28 Michael26  Icon User is offline

  • DIC-head, major DIC-head
  • member icon

Reputation: 349
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,498
  • Joined: 08-April 09

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 04:09 PM

You could shut it down
http://www.turnofftheinternet.com/
:)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#29 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3190
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,681
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 05:19 PM

So if I hold it down it'll re-boot? Everyone might as well go make a cup of tea.. or order a pizza.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#30 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7564
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,684
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Reputation popup showing up incorrectly

Posted 28 January 2014 - 06:15 PM

I tried it. It didn't work.

(very disappointed right now...)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3