About to Begin First Semester Majoring in Computer Science, Advice?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 2660 Views - Last Post: 18 December 2013 - 08:08 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

About to Begin First Semester Majoring in Computer Science, Advice?

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:22 PM

In about a month I will finally begin my first semester as a Computer Science major!:bananaman:

I would consider myself an absolute beginner when it comes to programming. I see all of my classmates as pure competition, and I want to come out on top! I know their will be some students that already have experience, and I want to be one of those students.

I refuse to go into class the first week lost. Here are some of the classes I will be taking my first semester:

Introduction to Computers
Programming Logic and Design
Introduction to C++ Programming
Introduction to Database

Any books, tutorials, videos, or articles that you could recommend to me as an absolute beginner would be so greatly appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: About to Begin First Semester Majoring in Computer Science, Advice?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: About to Begin First Semester Majoring in Computer Science, Advice?

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:25 PM

Pick up a C++ book and start working through it. The only way to learn how to code is to practice. That's really what will put you in a position to succeed is practice.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 11 December 2013 - 06:37 PM

Not sure how helpful this is, but I just stubbled upon this site. If you really are a clean slate, this might be a nice little (suger coated) introduction.

http://www.codecademy.com/

What this will do is start making you think code without having a bunch of syntax thrown in your face.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!