2 Replies - 2541 Views - Last Post: 13 December 2013 - 04:56 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Final Year Project Ideas

Posted 13 December 2013 - 07:32 AM

Hey
This is the first time i'm posting here
I'm doing my bachelors in C.S and currently I'm in my second year. I realize I've a lot of time to think about my FYP. But I want to start gathering ideas about it so that when the time comes I'll be pretty sure about the topic that I'm going to work on. I also play the guitar so I was thinking of doing something related to music. Two ideas that I had in mind include:
1. Building a program that takes a MIDI file of a passage of music for guitar as input and outputs tablature that correctly describes how the passage should be played.
2. A program that imitates the sounds of different guitar effect pedals (distortion, delay etc).

If anyone can give some more ideas related to music and guitar then that would be great. Currently I can program in Java,C++. I have basic knowledge about Android development

What would I need to make such programs. I've got no clear idea where to start. Plus the pre-reqs required for it. Suppose I make the first program that converts the sound into musical notation. Where would I start?

Is it really difficult to make a program like JamUp that creates a virtual multi effect processor?. Where would I start for this also?

I realize I may not have the enough skills needed for the needed project now, but I just want to gather ideas about what is possible and what can be done.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Final Year Project Ideas

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Final Year Project Ideas

Posted 13 December 2013 - 12:54 PM

Martyr put together a huge list of projects a while back that may be of use. There is even a graphics/ multimedia section which may be of interest to you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• جوروترا

• View blog

Re: Final Year Project Ideas

Posted 13 December 2013 - 04:56 PM