1 Replies - 1311 Views - Last Post: 14 December 2013 - 01:52 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Things to do as a pre-major Computer Scientist

Posted 14 December 2013 - 01:33 AM

Hello: I am a Freshman at the University of Washington with intent to major in both Computer Science and Business. I am feeling pretty good about my prospects for getting into the CSE major at the UW: it is highly competitive, but my grades are good and I know I am passionate about CSE. However, until I apply to the major at the end of June, I'm looking for ways to both improve myself as a programmer and buff my application. As far as CS-related activities go, I occupy my time doing challenge problems on Project Euler, Kattis, or from the ACM ICPC archives, or reading CS blogs and articles. Beyond that, I'm looking for ideas for something worthwhile I can do to bridge the gap until I (hopefully) get in the major. Jobs are hard to come by for someone like me, and internships are scarce (and I don't fit into any of the minority groups that companies like Google seem to seek out for possible interns), but I was wondering if anyone had advice for what a good project might look like for a pre-major CSE student. Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Things to do as a pre-major Computer Scientist

• The Algorithmi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Things to do as a pre-major Computer Scientist

Posted 14 December 2013 - 01:52 AM