6 Replies - 1504 Views - Last Post: 31 December 2013 - 10:30 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Undecided on a path in Software Dev vs I.T Security

Posted 14 December 2013 - 06:59 PM

Hi All,

So I have begun the process of transitioning from my present career into either one of two new careers A) Software Development (Game Dev or Mobile App Dev ) or B) I.T. Particularly System, Network and Web Penetration Tester or Malware Anylyst tracks.

Admittedly, I am a complete Noob coming from a completely unrelated field (other than scripting in 3DSMax and Maya).

I am currently learning C++ and am resolute in becoming competent in that particular language for a litany of reasons. I am aware of it's inherent difficulties. I am not intimidated by them in the least even though I probably should be :). My greatest weakness is Math. I am currently at an introductory Algebra level which I am teaching myself as well.

Unless their is a consensus that says my pursuance of C++ is a horrible idea, or a different language would be more useful in the pursuance of either career track enumerated above I will stick with C++.

The question is this, because at this point I have no way of knowing whether or not I possess the qualities needed for succeeding in either pursuits would I be undermining my efforts by studying C++, the maths , and the requisite course ware for Comp Tia certification at the same time?

I apologize in advance if this is long winded and/or convoluted and I thank you in advance for your input.

Avi

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Undecided on a path in Software Dev vs I.T Security

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Undecided on a path in Software Dev vs I.T Security

Posted 14 December 2013 - 07:18 PM

So last time it was webdev vs software dev, and now software dev vs infosec? Interesting.