9 Replies - 1245 Views - Last Post: 24 December 2013 - 11:36 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Looking for Mentor in vb.net

Posted 23 December 2013 - 11:45 PM

Hey all,
I am looking for someone who has the time and skills to teach me VB. I am currently a student at University of Phoenix and am working in my .net class now. I will admit am struggling with this class and I am going on break starting today. My grades are generally pretty high, but this class has thrown me for a loop :) I really want to learn this, I am not asking for anyone to do my work for me in fact I am looking for someone to mentor me while I am green so I don't pick up any bad habits. I have no experience in Software Engineering but I really want to learn this. I want to be challenged, but ill be quick to tell you what I don't know.

Little background about me. I am prior service Army Cav Scout. I still work for the military though ManTech and although I love working with soldiers I started my own business about a year ago and I have a lot of passion doing that. Its always been a dream of mine to do something in software, but with the money they pay me it was very hard to go to school and do what I was doing. About 2 years ago I said the heck with it and I decided to go to school, for me. If I never do anything with this other than for me, I am ok with that. I am smart enough to know that no matter what I learn in school it will never be good enough to really do anything with it, and the chances of me finding a job better than what I am doing now are kind of unlikely so I am reaching out to you all in hopes to find someone that can guide me, challenge me, and even train me to be a good programer. Although I don't have experience, and a little slow, I am very passionate about this and very eager to learn.