3 Replies - 1306 Views - Last Post: 25 December 2013 - 05:27 PM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

How to spend my 4 month break from university?

Posted 25 December 2013 - 04:15 PM

I'm in my 3rd year so far and am taking this Winter semester off, so I want to work hard and create some personal projects to build my portfolio for when i graduate and look for a job.

The one thing i am worried about is wasting time on a project that i wouldn't want to show to a perspective employer.

I would prefer to work in the games industry, but if i cant get a job in that industry I don't want to be left with a portfolio full of games that wouldn't be relevant to other sectors of the IT industry(web development, cyber security, etc).

I currently have a mediocre portfolio on my website PolishedGames, but most of the games in my portfolio are unpolished(the irony, i know) and not to industry standard.

I have started working my 1st project of the 4 month break and want your guys' opinions because the last thing i want to do is waste time when it could be better spent in a different project.

My plan: * ~1 month per project
1st project - Multiplayer(multithreaded), option to Host or Join a game room, undeicided on game type but will be something quick like Asteroids(from Atari) but with multiplayer, with MySQL database access(highscores).
2nd project - Undecided.
3rd project - Undecided.
4th project - Undecided.

What kind of projects do you think would impress game industry employers and/or general IT industry employers?

This post has been edited by Java Student: 25 December 2013 - 05:14 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to spend my 4 month break from university?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to spend my 4 month break from university?

Posted 25 December 2013 - 04:24 PM