8 Replies - 1390 Views - Last Post: 30 December 2013 - 10:30 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to become a Database Administrator

Posted 26 December 2013 - 08:07 PM

Hello,

I've decided for some time now that I would like to become a database administrator. My university has a course on the fundamentals of Databases but I cannot take it in the upcoming semester. I was wondering if anyone here could recommend a good textbook on the fundamentals of database administration that I can study with? Afterwards perhaps I will know what type (like MySQL, Oracle, etc.) of database I would like to work with. And do you have any other tips I can use in becoming a database administrator?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to become a Database Administrator

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Re: How to become a Database Administrator

Posted 26 December 2013 - 09:27 PM

I am a former aspiring database administrator (like that means anything :)). I don't have a specific book that a read that is only about databases. It was more based on a specific kind of database model. There are plenty of good books, however. Go to your favorite book seller and look up "database administration". One might be
http://www.amazon.co...+administration
I think database administration is a wonderful field. I would still want to be one if not for software.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 26 December 2013 - 11:57 PM

Thanks. What do you do now?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 December 2013 - 06:22 AM

I'm a DBA. Oracle and MS SQL, mostly. I don't know any text books; it's mostly just documentation. ;)