6 Replies - 365 Views - Last Post: 28 December 2013 - 05:08 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Question about OpenGL

Posted 27 December 2013 - 10:36 AM

Hi,

I am a Java programmer interested in 3D graphics. I have never used OpenGL before, but I have experience in C++.

My question is: is Java's AWT/Swing API at the same layer as OpenCL? In other words, is C++ to OpenGL what Java is to AWT/Swing? Are the OpenGL APIs for Java (such as LWJGL) meant to replace Java's SE graphics APIs?

Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question about OpenGL

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Question about OpenGL

Posted 27 December 2013 - 11:06 AM

Hey.

The AWT and Swing APIs are meant to provide easy to use window GUI widgets for Java programs, whereas OpenGL is an API meant to expose the full rendering capabilities of the graphics hardware to programmers.

I don't know exactly how much graphics rendering capabilities Swing or AWT provide these days, but unless it's drastically improved in the last few years, it's no more than basic 2D rendering. More like the Windows GDI+.

If you want to do 3D development, it's OpenGL you want. (Or possibly Direct3D, for Windows-only development.)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 27 December 2013 - 11:22 AM

My question wasn't which is better (obviously OpenGL is), but whether they are in the same category or not; i.e. do they sit at the same layer between software and hardware?

I have written a 3D engine in Java using AWT and I was thinking of moving on to OpenGL (I guess using LWJGL). However, since this is for learning purposes, I want to keep my project as "from scratch" as possible (I do all the rendering and math myself).

This post has been edited by carnivroar: 27 December 2013 - 11:23 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 December 2013 - 11:45 AM