1 Replies - 1254 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2014 - 07:18 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Should I get a certification alongside a portfolio?

Posted 05 January 2014 - 09:59 PM

I graduated with a Bachelors in Computer Information Systems just over 2 years ago. I had a job as a junior programmer for a printing company which lasted just under a year and a half until last August when I and others were laid off due to corporate restructuring.

The biggest problem with the layoff is that I came out of that company with just as many relevant skills to employers today as I did when I went in. I learned an obscure language called Foxpro, and did a couple of big projects in that aside from data manipulation. However, I did next to no .Net work, and couldn't hang with the big projects they had there anyway.

Since the layoff, I've been applying to companies. However, I wasn't making too much progress. I decided at trying to shake all the rust off myself in order to get a portfolio going. Aside from trying to brush up on old languages I tout on my resume, I've been trying to learn C# and Java. Still, I feel I'm nowhere near the level of making a portfolio I can show off. There's a lot of stuff I didn't learn in college, and more I forgot due to being lazy and not keeping up on things (just being honest).