5 Replies - 1789 Views - Last Post: 25 January 2014 - 04:05 PM Rate Topic: -----

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

A Journey through Emacs in Ruby

Post icon  Posted 11 January 2014 - 08:30 PM

As I am an avid Vim user from my time as a System Administrator, I've been repeatedly told that my leanings toward Lisp and anything in Ruby that resembles it would translate better to Emacs. I've decided to give Emacs a run, and see what all the noise is about.

So why post this here? I plan to document this journey, in an attempt to give insight to a few things:
  • What it's like to switch an IDE
  • The potential benefits of Emacs
  • Emacs from a Vim lover's perspective.

I'm also planning on submitting this as a proposal to a few conferences as I go along. If I do get accepted I plan to post back here on it.

This post has been edited by Lemur: 11 January 2014 - 11:18 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A Journey through Emacs in Ruby

#2 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: A Journey through Emacs in Ruby

Posted 11 January 2014 - 08:50 PM

Sounds like fun. I've been using emacs a fair bit in recent months, and it's actually kind of pleasant. Haven't done much with ruby (it on the list...) but for python and octave it's been pretty nice. Also for ml, though I don't think I'm going to be doing a lot of ml going forward. As a lisp guy, you might actually find it's not so bad. (though of course vi is the One True Editor, as we know)

You might want to take a look at this here that a friend of mine made. Apparently people are finding it useful.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 BetaWar  Icon User is online

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 11 January 2014 - 10:16 PM