5 Replies - 3055 Views - Last Post: 23 January 2014 - 07:23 PM

#1 Ahmedn1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 557
  • Joined: 04-August 09

Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

Posted 19 January 2014 - 09:30 AM

I'm building a wp8 app and every page on my app appears like this
Posted Image

See those strange symbols on the right of the page?
All my app's pages look like this

What's wrong?

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3515
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,999
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

Posted 19 January 2014 - 11:31 AM

Does it help to know that they are numbers ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Ahmedn1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 557
  • Joined: 04-August 09

Re: Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

Posted 19 January 2014 - 11:54 AM

View Postandrewsw, on 19 January 2014 - 08:31 PM, said:

Does it help to know that they are numbers ;)/>


I know that :)
Numbers and some squares
I want to remove them
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,857
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

Posted 19 January 2014 - 05:33 PM

Looks like info from the virtual machine. Probably because its in debug mode maybe?

000 000 001057 003 002 00. 1266
                     ^ Version number maybe  2.00.1266


You say all your apps have this. Are they all built from the same source/skeleton code? Do they appear in 'Release' versions or just 'Debug' ?

Did you write ALL of the code on your apps from scratch? Or maybe this is something you borrowed without realizing it. 003 could be the depth of navigation. 1057 could be the memory being used.

These are all just guesses. But the fact is they didn't appear by magic. So either your code is doing it, or you've turned on some debug feature(s), or the virtual machine does it when launched from the compiler. Maybe a flag being passed in.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Ahmedn1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 557
  • Joined: 04-August 09

Re: Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

Posted 21 January 2014 - 05:41 PM

View PosttlhIn`toq, on 20 January 2014 - 02:33 AM, said:

Looks like info from the virtual machine. Probably because its in debug mode maybe?

000 000 001057 003 002 00. 1266
                     ^ Version number maybe  2.00.1266


You say all your apps have this. Are they all built from the same source/skeleton code? Do they appear in 'Release' versions or just 'Debug' ?

Did you write ALL of the code on your apps from scratch? Or maybe this is something you borrowed without realizing it. 003 could be the depth of navigation. 1057 could be the memory being used.

These are all just guesses. But the fact is they didn't appear by magic. So either your code is doing it, or you've turned on some debug feature(s), or the virtual machine does it when launched from the compiler. Maybe a flag being passed in.



I tried the release version but it did the same
I was using VS 2012 on Windows 7 and 8
and now VS 2013 on Win 8.1 fresh install

and every time I build an app for WP it gives me this screen.

So, I don't think it is something related to the system. And yes I'm building my projects from a scratch I even tried to create a new windows phone project and run it without any modification and these numbers appeared as well.

I can't run the emulator because I don't have Win 8 Pro so I test on my Lumia 920
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Ahmedn1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 557
  • Joined: 04-August 09

Re: Strange Symbols in my WP8 App

Posted 23 January 2014 - 07:23 PM

It turns out to be something in the debugger
because when I tried to just run the app from my phone not from Visual Studio "Run" command the app screen didn't have these numbers.
They appear only when I run the app on the phone from VS.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1