8 Replies - 2129 Views - Last Post: 18 February 2014 - 08:27 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Are web developers and web designers different things?

Posted 09 February 2014 - 04:29 PM

Hello All,

I really hope this is the right place to put this....

I am about to start applying for a new job and am looking for a job Web development (.net although it doesn't matter all that much for this....). I have worked on web applications before, I have several years of software engineering experience etc. but I am not what you would call "A Creative" ( I can't look at something and go "That blue would look better" or "Use Font A instead of Font B" and I was wondering is there such a thing as a back end Web Developer or even front end for that matter.

I guess what I am asking is, are web development and design separate jobs or are you expected to be able to do both?

Like I said this is a strange question but one I am quite interested in knowing the answer to.

Kevin

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Are web developers and web designers different things?

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Are web developers and web designers different things?

Posted 09 February 2014 - 04:32 PM

It really depends on the employer. If you're at an IT firm, probably not. If you're one of 2-3 people at a small company, probably so.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Screw Trump (before he screws you)
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 09 February 2014 - 05:28 PM

I personally don't know a lot of people who are good at both. There are some design things you can learn, but for the most part you want a real designer for design work.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:32 AM