6 Replies - 1743 Views - Last Post: 21 February 2014 - 07:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

New to working with APIs, any good tutorials/books/guides?

Post icon  Posted 21 February 2014 - 01:17 AM

I don't understand how APIs work to save my life. I am a complete beginner. In fact, I am a bit confused on what API even means and what the meaning entails.

I am fairly competent with python, though I do lack some real world experience. Regardless, any tutorials/books/guides that deal with API for a complete beginner would be awesome.

Thanks.

PS: Something that can explain SDKs would be helpful as well.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New to working with APIs, any good tutorials/books/guides?

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: New to working with APIs, any good tutorials/books/guides?

Posted 21 February 2014 - 07:47 AM

The concept of "API" is actually sort of poorly specified, and I think a lot of people are confused when they try to figure out exactly what it means.

In a nutshell, the API is the set of functions a given library exposes for your use. It's the set of actions that you can take with that library. By extension, people will sometimes speak of an API, meaning the code that backs up that set of functions, and they'll sometime speak of "check the API", most likely meaning the documentation about how that API works. At least, I've heard both of those meanings in conversation.

So for working with an API, say re, in python, you're mostly just learning what sorts of objects are defined there, what methods are offered, and so forth.