24 Replies - 2375 Views - Last Post: 14 April 2014 - 09:52 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Want to pursue a degree in CS but suck at Math

Posted 28 February 2014 - 03:31 AM

What's up!?
The title says it all.
What do you guys think?

Please leave a comment down below and tell me about your experience!
I'm really curious! :bananaman:
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Want to pursue a degree in CS but suck at Math

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Want to pursue a degree in CS but suck at Math

Posted 28 February 2014 - 04:05 AM

Why do you (think you) suck at math? Is it in your head? Are you too lazy to make the effort to learn it?

What do you want to do with a CS degree? While I have an engineering degree and can't be sure, based on the CS books I've read, I believe a CS degree will have significant math requirements. Perhaps you don't need a CS degree but an IT degree or another that focuses on programming or whatever it is you'd like to do.

This post has been edited by GregBrannon: 28 February 2014 - 04:05 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 28 February 2014 - 04:27 AM

I can't claim to have any significant experience, but i've gotten the impression that computer science is indeed very math heavy.

Like Greg asks though, do you really suck at math? Do you have trouble grasping the concepts? Or have you simply been lazy and ignored studying?

In high school (upper secondary?) i always understood the concepts easily and helped my friend out with them. In the end my friend received the highest grade and I the third highest, because he studied much harder.

This post has been edited by Witchking: 28 February 2014 - 04:28 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 28 February 2014 - 04:53 AM

Well, I guess I'm just really lazy to learn the math part.