10 Replies - 3589 Views - Last Post: 11 April 2014 - 05:12 AM

#1 Michael26  Icon User is online

  • DIC-head, major DIC-head
  • member icon

Reputation: 359
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,528
  • Joined: 08-April 09

Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 12 March 2014 - 04:21 AM

Quote

Oops! Google Chrome could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Try reloading: www.­dreamincode.­net/­forums/­


This message keep popping up, more frequently nowadays, especially when i'm posting reply and in fear of losing my reply message i keep saving my message in notepad first and then i hit post. In short this is getting really annoying, i have never encountered this timeout frequency on any other forums i've been.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,857
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 12 March 2014 - 05:13 AM

Do you get the same timeout using other browsers? If it happens in Chrome but never in Safari then I don't think it would be the site, but maybe rather plug-ins for Chrome.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Michael26  Icon User is online

  • DIC-head, major DIC-head
  • member icon

Reputation: 359
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,528
  • Joined: 08-April 09

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 12 March 2014 - 05:16 AM

Well i use chrome 99% of the time, so i don't know. I do remember several months ago maybe a year i used firefox and i got the same thing, i thought this is the server issue. Do you experience this time out too tlhIn`toq?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,857
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 12 March 2014 - 05:46 AM

Nope, and I am 100% Safari.

There was a bug a few months back that was similar... maybe even the same. But that seemed to clear. I just figured someone fixed the bug on the server. It became normal for me to select-all, copy before hitting post. Then if the post failed I could navigate back and repaste. But I haven't had to do that for months.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 CasiOo  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1400
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,109
  • Joined: 05-April 11

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 31 March 2014 - 11:56 AM

I encounter the same issue DAILY
I'm using Opera and Chrome, having the issue in both browsers

It's nothing new sadly.. The issue have existed for many many months

When I can see the website responding slowly, I copy my post to clipboard ^^
A minute or two later I can then access the website and post again.....
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 chris98  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 26
  • View blog
  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: 06-July 13

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 31 March 2014 - 11:59 AM

I often get this issue, only I'm using Internet Explorer. I go to http://www.isitdownr...incode.net.html and apparently it's just me. I'm glad I've found others with the same issue though.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10595
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39,246
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 31 March 2014 - 12:07 PM

I've passed this issue up the chain the webmaster.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Skydiver  Icon User is offline

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 3589
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,159
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 03 April 2014 - 06:46 AM

I noticed that in the morning the normal brown out time used to be 9:00 AM. Now the brown out time has shifted down to 9:15AM. I pretty much just learned not to try to do anything on the site during the brown out periods. Saves me some frustration.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 CTphpnwb  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3000
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,390
  • Joined: 08-August 08

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 04 April 2014 - 04:33 AM

I've noticed (yesterday and today: 2014/04/04) it's hard to get to the home page but I can go directly to the forums.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10595
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39,246
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 04 April 2014 - 06:20 AM

I've followed up again with the webmaster. I'm sorry I don't have more information or better news.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 chris98  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 26
  • View blog
  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: 06-July 13

Re: Oops! could not connect to www.dreamincode.net

Posted 11 April 2014 - 05:12 AM

I know macosxnerd says he's told Skyhawk, but just for the benefit of other people as well, I have found out that when it goes down, if I use a proXPN it works. I don't quite understand how, but, somehow it does.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1