10 Replies - 1230 Views - Last Post: 15 March 2014 - 08:46 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to progress when you're stuck on a question

Posted 14 March 2014 - 05:05 PM

Hi guys,

I'm a bit new to programming, and I find myself not very good at it. I would always get stuck on a particular part of a question and even through researching, I still find myself just as confused as before. I had a few questions:

What are some methods you guys use to "unstuck" yourself and progress through difficult problems?
What did you guys do in order to become uber hackers today?
What are some good online sources you guys used/recommend using?

Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to progress when you're stuck on a question

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to progress when you're stuck on a question

Posted 14 March 2014 - 05:38 PM

What are some good online sources you guys used/recommend using?

Google.
MSDN.

even through researching, I still find myself just as confused as before

Over time you'll learn to do better search terms. You can't search for the answer to your homework. You have to search for general concept questions then apply that to your specific project.

How to do a targeted search for your question - Read this tutorial
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 March 2014 - 05:41 PM

In order to best answer your question, it would help to know what language(s) you are working with. I am by no means an expert. In fact I often find myself amazed at how much I don't know that seems to be common knowledge among others here.

That being said, I would definitely recommend setting breakpoints and stepping through the code one line at a time. You would be amazed how much time that can save you.