5 Replies - 802 Views - Last Post: 17 March 2014 - 02:41 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Which is more important - Work experience or credentials?

Posted 14 March 2014 - 08:45 PM

Say you are "self taught", and haven't received a degree from a post-secondary program. But you have plenty of working projects and code to show to a potential employer. You have an extensive knowledge in the required fields for the job(so you'd likely be able to answer all the interview questions with competent answers).

Do you think the lack of a post-secondary degree would hurt your chances of being chosen over somebody with a degree but less actual work experience / no work experience?

Would a lack of degree make it difficult to even be called back for an interview, even if you specify you have work experience in the field and actual working projects to show them(similar to what you'd be developing for them.)

I know these questions are really subjective, but I'm curious about other peoples experiences in these/similar situations.

I've recently hit a brick wall with my decision of whether or not to attain a post-secondary education in computer science. Everybody who's taken this route, Says that their degree is a joke (stupid classes, course only teaches them basics of like 3 languages instead of making them extremely fluent in 1, etc.) They all feel as though they wasted money taking these classes. (In fact, I've self taught myself better in the past 6 months than some of the people actually taking comp sci courses). I really don't want to throw away all the K's I have saved up, and feel like I've wasted my money at the end of it. I also feel like I can "self teach" myself everything these courses offer, but for WAAAAY cheaper. (I mean really, a $50 book is pretty much the equivalent of a course you'd take on the subject.)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Which is more important - Work experience or credentials?

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog