3 Replies - 1173 Views - Last Post: 26 March 2014 - 02:20 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What type of developer documents can actually help developers?

Posted 16 March 2014 - 11:32 PM

Hi All,

I am a Technical Writer.. but I don't write user documentation, I write developer documentation. I just started working at a new job, where I have to start developer documentation from scratch. I would really love your inputs as to what type of documents will make life easier for developers?

I work at a startup, where most people know each other, so they can just walk up to the developers and ask questions. So documentation wasn't required before. But now they are expanding the company, so they need documentation. Hope this clarifies the scenario.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What type of developer documents can actually help developers?

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What type of developer documents can actually help developers?

Posted 17 March 2014 - 06:27 AM

To me, the most useful documentation are:
- specific method level documentation so that I know how to call somebody else's code without having to dig too deeply into their source code. So that includes not only the methods of each class, but also the pre-conditions required by the method, and post-conditions as the result of calling that method.
- general organization level documentation that tells me where to find what I code I need in case I do need to dig into somebody else's source code.
- general "how do I build and test" somebody else's source code. In other words, what environment do I need, and how do I verify that I didn't break anything?
- general "how do I check in code" somebody else's source code. What "ceremonies" do I need to go through to check in a fix for old code or to put in new code? A code review? A design review? Just check it in and see if somebody screams?

Also, in general, I prefer to look at UML diagrams instead of reading text.