3 Replies - 359 Views - Last Post: 22 April 2014 - 11:51 PM

#1 hdr  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 5
  • View blog
  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: 15-December 08

Virtual Machine unable to connect to the internet

Posted 23 March 2014 - 09:38 PM

I installed Mint Linux on VMWare player, and set the VM to use a bridged connection and to replicate a physical network state.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Initially, it worked fine, but somehow, after attempting to install Snort and restarting the VM, it could no longer connect to the internet, despite no changes were made to the VM's network connection settings, like in the screenshots below:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

I even checked Windows' firewall settings, but, that too appears to be unchanged.

Posted Image

Does anyone have any idea what might have caused this problem and any suggestions on how to fix this?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Virtual Machine unable to connect to the internet

#2 belgarion262  Icon User is offline

  • Prince of all (2) Saiyans

Reputation: 172
  • View blog
  • Posts: 955
  • Joined: 25-October 09

Re: Virtual Machine unable to connect to the internet

Posted 07 April 2014 - 09:01 AM

I'm afraid I don't have any answers for you.

Since this topic has been left unanswered for so long though, I'd like to apologize for said lack of answers (from us all).
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5394
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,388
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Virtual Machine unable to connect to the internet

Posted 07 April 2014 - 09:26 AM

The output of ifconfig shows that it's getting an address. What is the output from route?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 hdr  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 5
  • View blog
  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: 15-December 08

Re: Virtual Machine unable to connect to the internet

Posted 22 April 2014 - 11:51 PM

Well, I posted it on Neowin and I did get some answers, although the problem resolved by itself, strangely enough.

Thanks for taking your time to reply, though.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1