10 Replies - 2573 Views - Last Post: 27 March 2014 - 02:50 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I am looking to get into computer science. How?

Posted 27 March 2014 - 09:57 AM

Okay so I am brand new to dreamincode and I am not 100% sure if this is the correct place for this thread. I do know that I have been searching high and low to try and find out exactly how I can get to be doing what I want to do, but to even explain what I am asking I will need to go into a little bit of detail.

I have always loved astrophysics and quantum physics, but more to it for me is the development of these fields. I also love computers but struggle when it comes to things like learning how to write in coding languages. At school for me (being in Australia attending a public school) it classes were as basic as "here is how you write an e-mail" and "this is what html looks like" so getting into university to learn more is proving difficult.

I want to get into a line of study/work that will help me get onto the front-lines in respect to writing intelligent artificial intelligence. A brief "why?" will follow to add insight to the question but basically this is asking anyone out there on these forums who might be on the road to writing advanced codes for these kinds of applications or already working in the field or even just those who know.

Starting from only having a year 12 graduation, a passion for computers, a desire to learn and the ability to learn fast, what courses at university would I apply for that would be specific and/or fast-track me to where I want to be? After that what outside studies would I be looking at and what kind of companies would I want to be seeking employment with to further my education and my ability to help advance artificial intelligence programs/technologies?