7 Replies - 3010 Views - Last Post: 07 April 2014 - 10:22 AM

• Cheese and Sprinkles
  • member icon

• View blog

Site re-design Ideas

Posted 02 April 2014 - 12:58 PM

So about two years ago I created a site for my sister in-law who had moved to New York to pursue her passion for theater arts and went to NYU Stienhard for theater acting. As she gets more work and I get more knowlege on Development I have been thinking of redesigning here site.

http://meghdixon.com

I only know one thing about her taste for the design, She wants the purple jewel tones. I made it originaly how she wanted it but I feel it needs to be more of a portfolio now and the site as it is has become a jumbled mess and takes forever to load on slow connections.

If you have any design ideas please let me know and discuss with me why you would choose that route. I am not a designer and would like to get some input from you all.

Thank you for your time.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Site re-design Ideas

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Site re-design Ideas

Posted 02 April 2014 - 01:53 PM

We've all been there.

First - figure out what the site wants to be. A promotion for theater and background, or just a jumbled personal site, or what?

Next - if she wants the purplish color then, by all means, go hunt down some purple colored sites to see the variety!

http://webdesignledg...-to-inspire-you
http://spyrestudios....ebsite-designs/

Functionality - get rid of that menu bar animation.. it is not doing any favors.

I think the updated page of where she currently is playing is major important. Keep that.

Maybe have a lightbox cycling photos as well.

Have some sort of 'contact here!' on the front page.. don't hide that.

The 'links' on the side I nearly missed.. Perhaps not having them there would be best.