• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 2487 Views - Last Post: 25 June 2014 - 01:38 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Please help me with a bit of advice regarding development internships

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:30 AM

Hello all,

I am wondering if I could get some feedback on my current situation which I will be briefly outline.

I graduated in 2008 with an arts degree and went into insurance broking which, whilst fairly lucrative, I really didn't enjoy. I started getting into coding a bit and found out that I really loved it, so opted for a career change 18 months ago and began a degree in Software Development.

In my first year of Study I worked hard and got good results, and now I don't restart University until October but would love to be able to secure some type of summer or 3 month internship. I live in central London so there is plenty of stuff about, however so far all I have studied is logic, mathematics and Java (with introductory Linux). I have no real clue how programming works in the real world as I've only written fairly trivial little bits of code in Java.

I am currently working through the HTML/CSS section on Codeacademy as I am led to believe the majority of internships will be with startup companies who need web developers. My aim is to spend the next 3 weeks building a basic website with HTML/CSS/Javascript and then learn either Python or Ruby to create a basic back end. Then I will host it on my Raspberry Pi and put the code on GitHub. At the moment I am only vaguely aware of the differences between a backend and frontend but have a lot of free time and am passionate about the subject matter. I will also need to learn how to effectively use GitHub.