1 Replies - 1257 Views - Last Post: 14 April 2014 - 02:46 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming Contract Work?

Posted 14 April 2014 - 05:17 AM

Hi, I'm not sure if this is an acceptable post for this forum. I'm an intern with a company, I have another internship with a different company starting in about 6 weeks. Company A wants to hire me on a contract basis to finish up some projects I've been doing during my stay here. I commute 1 1/2 hours to this place, everyday. They offered to come in part-time while working full-time at my other internship( I also work part time at another job from home), to finish up a project and/or start some new ones.

They hinted at paying a few dollars more currently I make a couple less than 13 an hour. I also can not work from home, for all billable hours I must be present at the company. It costs at least 25-30 dollar round trip for the commute.

My question is, are they taking advantage of my intern status to get cheap labor? I would consider doing this if I didn't have to commute, but with the commute this is hardly worth it.

What do you think?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming Contract Work?

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming Contract Work?

Posted 14 April 2014 - 02:46 PM

Of course they are taking advantage of your intern status to get cheap labor. If they weren't they wouldn't hire an intern, they would demand 3 years experience and wouldn't even talk to you.

You're going to have to "pay your dues" until you get the experience other employers want. If you've got a lot of offers, you can be picky and make demands of them.