I want to write some binary code

• (3 Pages)
  • +

40 Replies - 3177 Views - Last Post: 05 May 2014 - 01:50 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I want to write some binary code

Posted 02 May 2014 - 09:52 PM

I'm more of a philosopher than I am a computer programmer. Understanding the limits of computers is very important for understanding the mind/body problem. If one wants to know whether computers can think, one has to know what thinking is and what computers do. To understanding what computers can do one must at least understand what a Turing Tape is and how it works. So I would like to write some binary code, so as to get a feel for what computers can do. I am also interested in looking at some of the earliest computing languages such as Fortran and Cobal.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I want to write some binary code

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I want to write some binary code

Posted 03 May 2014 - 07:58 AM

Congratulations on the endeavor? Keep folks posted as you go.. I would suggest utilizing the blog feature!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 May 2014 - 02:26 PM

Maybe I should have been more clear about the fact that I was wondering if anyone knew how I would go about this endeavor. What's the best way? Is there any software that enables one to write some very simple program in binary?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 May 2014 - 02:33 PM

On today's machines, programming in binary isn't really possible. There might be some old operating systems that support this that you could run on an emulator. The closest you'll get is Assembly language. It will be enough of a challenge for you.

If you're a philosopher type, a higher level language might be more appropriate. Prolog and Lisp are probably good choices. Prolog is a logical based language. I think you'll find it up your alley.