• (3 Pages)
  • +

40 Replies - 3633 Views - Last Post: 05 May 2014 - 01:50 PM

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I want to write some binary code

Posted 04 May 2014 - 11:40 AM

Now that I think about it, I suppose the real reason is that I have experience with Excel VBA and I have no experience with any other computing language. Since all of my definitions were already written in Excel and since I understood Excel it was a no brainer to just go ahead and write the code in Excel.

That's all well and good, but that doesn't mean Prolog is lacking (and that you should imply that it's lacking). I want to point out as well that it will be much easier to pick up Prolog (or stick with VBA) than to try and do anything meaningful in a program written purely in binary.

As jon.kiparsky suggested, if you want to spend some time on binary, look at Automata Theory as well as logical circuitry. It should give you a good feel for what is going on.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 May 2014 - 03:22 PM

First you say

One possible response to my argument is that I'm just making up rules expressly designed to falsify Godel's theorems.

Then you say

1. Sentences cannot refer to themselves

Thus showing you are doing exactly what you said in the first quote.

You don't have any concept of what a sentence is and your examples show that. But go ahead and waste your life trying to prove it false.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 05 May 2014 - 05:58 AM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 04 May 2014 - 11:40 AM, said:

Now that I think about it, I suppose the real reason is that I have experience with Excel VBA and I have no experience with any other computing language. Since all of my definitions were already written in Excel and since I understood Excel it was a no brainer to just go ahead and write the code in Excel.