2 Replies - 1645 Views - Last Post: 26 May 2014 - 03:19 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Usefulness of a specific class

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:00 AM

I'm considering taking a summer class and am wondering how useful it would be for me. About me, I graduated a year ago with a comp sci minor, and I would like to get a job in software development. I'm in the IT industry, but I'm on the requirements gathering and data side of things, so no coding for me in my job other than SQL.

The class is called internet technology and its topics include IP protocols, media access protocols, socket programming in C/UNIX, multicasting, wireless and mobile communication, multimedia over the Internet, ATM, switching theory, and network architectures. It's prerequisites are computer architecture (also called computer organization at some schools) and discrete math.

A little more about my background: My comp sci minor consisted of algorithm analysis, data structures, discrete math, computer organization, software development, and an introductory comp sci class.

So to summarize, would taking this class be a good step towards getting a job in software development? Would the class itself be something worth adding to my resume/would a corporate recruiter be impressed with the addition of the skills I could gather from taking this class? Or is this class not particularly relevant towards my end goal?

This post has been edited by davidvee: 17 May 2014 - 09:04 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Usefulness of a specific class

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Usefulness of a specific class

Posted 17 May 2014 - 10:05 AM