6 Replies - 1471 Views - Last Post: 18 May 2014 - 08:00 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Should I go for a Masters in CS, or a BS (have a prev degree)?

Posted 17 May 2014 - 02:23 PM

Hello all,

I have a previous degree (B.A. in Psychology) that I got about 7 years ago. Long story short, after working in the field for a few years, I just decided it wasn't for me, and then worked office jobs for the rest of the time. After being let go of my last job, I decided to go back to school at a CC (last fall), and am about the finish my second semester (not including winter school) - I took/am taking Calc I, Intro Data Structures, Java, and C this semester. Next semester, I am planning on taking Beginning Computer Architecture, Object Oriented C++, Calc II, and maybe another class.

My ideal degree would be one from a really good UC (i.e. UC Berkeley, UCLA, UCSD, UCSB, UCI). Obviously, besides the great education and name, I would have a great chance at getting awesome interships. The problem is that I believe that they do not take 2nd bachelor applicants, and I also think that financial aid gets dicey with 2nd bach., no matter where you go. Because of that, I'm wondering if the Masters is the better way to go.

I remember running into a professor I had for my introductory C++ class in the fall a few weeks ago, and she said to get the BS, with internships/certs, and not the MS, unless you/I want to teach the subject in college. I didn't really have time to talk, as I didn't mention the policies of the UC's with 2nd bachelor's students , fin. aid, etc.

Anyway, that's just what's on my mind. I still have finals/projects/etc. to worry about for this semester, but I appreciate the input from some of you guys on here.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Should I go for a Masters in CS, or a BS (have a prev degree)?

• Major DIC Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Should I go for a Masters in CS, or a BS (have a prev degree)?

Posted 17 May 2014 - 02:43 PM