5 Replies - 299 Views - Last Post: 18 May 2014 - 08:21 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Open Source Programming for Newbies

Posted 18 May 2014 - 04:35 PM

I was hoping to receive some guidance in the field of open source programming.

I have been programming for two years (mostly in Java) and I really want to start working on an open source project.

I know some of the tips of getting started on a project such as:

-Work on a project that could benefit you/that you already use often or you are familiar with.
-Be prepared to get really frustrated and get your hands really dirty.

These are typical tips that people give but I'm looking for a little bit more guidance than just that.
Some questions I have include:

-Is there a website/place where I can find projects that are specifically for Java programmers (source code is in Java).
-Is there a place where I can find projects that are not as difficult to work on and understand for open source newbies like me?
-Is there a place that guides open source newbies like me? (besides openhatch)
-Is there a place where I could find people that would be interested in mentoring me in open source programming??

Thanks everyone!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Open Source Programming for Newbies

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Open Source Programming for Newbies

Posted 18 May 2014 - 05:52 PM

I get a sense that you are viewing this all the wrong way. All "open source" means is you have code, you dump it to a publicly available space, and don't ask for monetary returns when used. This differs from a closed project in only that distribution part.. the entire 'making a project' is the same in both cases.

Is there a website/place where I can find projects that are specifically for Java programmers (source code is in Java).