11 Replies - 2374 Views - Last Post: 28 May 2014 - 11:08 AM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Cron Jobs & PHP

Posted 24 May 2014 - 08:45 AM

I know that this probably isn't the correct place for cron jobs, I apologise for that. But the only reason that I posted it here is because I call a PHP file with the cron job. I'm very new to them and this is the first time I've tried something like this hence why it probably went wrong. I also set this up with cPanel pro 11.42.1.

Here is the code I have at the moment, I'm trying to not have to link this PHP file into all files in order for it to change because then it will slow my scripts down, and it isn't needed because it's only done once every hour.

minute, hour, day, month, weekday, command

0 * * * * /usr/bin/php -q /home/****DIRECTORIES****.php 

I know the path is correct because I double checked it, but I'm not quite sure what is wrong and why it's not triggering - I didn't get any errors when putting it in, it just said it was successful.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Cron Jobs & PHP

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Cron Jobs & PHP

Posted 24 May 2014 - 08:55 AM

It's been a while since I've dealt with cron jobs, so I'll ask the obvious question: are you sure you need one? Let's say your site awards points on an hourly basis. You could do that with a cron job but you could more easily check the number of hours since the last activity for a user and calculate the points to add for each user, only when they do something instead of all users every hour.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 24 May 2014 - 09:59 AM

It's not a per user thing, it's a part of the site's structure that changes every hour. Maybe I didn't explain it well enough above, looking back it seems pretty incomprehensible to myself.

Instead of this: