Career Change to Programing

• (2 Pages)
  • +

26 Replies - 3884 Views - Last Post: 29 May 2014 - 06:18 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Career Change to Programing

Posted 27 May 2014 - 01:42 PM

Hello all! I have a degree in education but want to make a career change to programing and possibly software development. My idea was to get a post baccalaureate degree in computer science, but am not sure if this would be enough for me to land an entry level job. Here is an example of a post bad computer sci program.
http://eecs.oregonst...ine-cs-students
Thanks for your input!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Career Change to Programing

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Career Change to Programing

Posted 27 May 2014 - 01:49 PM

Moved to Student Campus.

I strongly discourage you from going an online route for CS. I'm all for the merits of self-learning, but a classroom experience offers collaboration and interaction with your peers. Much of your learning will come from these interactions. As to whether or not you can land an entry level job, that entirely depends on how much of the material you absorb, your skillset, and your demonstrated abilities to produce.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 May 2014 - 01:52 PM

Perhaps talk to a local tech recruiter firm (or five) in the area? You aren't first person to switch careers..

I would be more interested in the class load..
http://eecs.oregonst...m/track-options
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 May 2014 - 01:53 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 27 May 2014 - 01:49 PM, said:

Moved to Student Campus.