13 Replies - 1581 Views - Last Post: 29 May 2014 - 11:01 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Who would hire me as software devloper with my experience?

Posted 29 May 2014 - 02:34 AM

Hello

I'm getting more and more dissatisfied with my job. It's my first job and I've been doing it for 11 years now (I'm 32 by the way). When I started in the company there were 15 of us and now there are 50. I'd like to swich jobs to proper software development but I have a few concerns regarding my experience in the field.

What I have been doing so far:
- system administration (server, workstation, DB, network infrastructure, everything basically)
- programming applications for internal use and also some small bits for our customers (<= 10000 lines of code)
- customer support for both my coworkers and our customers (IT and non-IT related)
- managing two more people
- writing user manuals
- performing measurement equipment calibration (our primary field of work)
- writing applications for government tenders
- some graphics design
- writing patent applications
- doing some minor work in electronics
- doing marketing work
- cleaning cars
- showeling snow

Beside all that I've always been the person that would come and install OS, clean viruses and doing maintenance work for all my relatives and friends. My education is somewhere between high scool and college. I don't actually know how two years of mechatronics that grant non bachelor degree after high school would translate to UK or US education system. Perhaps junior college?