4 Replies - 1920 Views - Last Post: 16 August 2014 - 07:08 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How does a noob like me prepare to be a software developer?

Posted 01 June 2014 - 10:56 AM

I am about to graduate from high school, and I am interested in software development. For college I put software development as my major. I am really excited to start learning what it takes to be a great developer. The thing is, I have very little knowledge of it and I know it is vital to start learning on your own. I've seen countless of youtube videos and I've worked on code.org to get started. I was wondering if I could have suggestions on what it takes to be a software developer, what I should learn on my own to be ready for classes in the fall, how to prepare, and just any tips on the industry. Thank you :)/>

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How does a noob like me prepare to be a software developer?

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How does a noob like me prepare to be a software developer?

Posted 01 June 2014 - 12:13 PM

Moved to Student Campus.

Well, starting out, it is important to remember that the vast majority of people who are going into their major think it sounds interesting and haven't had any actual experience with it until College starts.

It really depends on how much you want to learn _at_ school instead of on your own. If you go out and learn say, C++, Java, Python, PHP, and HTML over the summer (it would be a huge undertaking, so I wouldn't suggest it) it is pretty safe to say you will go into college significantly further ahead than any of your classmates. However, I also would point out that I had 4+ years of programming experience before going into college so I didn't learn everything overnight.