2 Replies - 960 Views - Last Post: 05 June 2014 - 01:40 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

MS CIS with a focus in SE VS MS SE

Posted 04 June 2014 - 09:49 PM

Hi,

I came to this forum for advice. I have an BBA with Dual Majors in MIS and Accounting. Some Visual Basic, C#, and SQL experience. Right now I'm a Business Analyst, but would like a profession more technical. I did great on my programming courses and am looking at getting into software engineering.

I found two promising Masters programs. One is a full blown Software Engineering Degree. The other a CIS degree with a software engineering track.

I have the following questions:

1. How do these programs compare to one another in your opinion?
2. If I chose the CIS program with the SE track would I have that much of a better chance than the straight up MS SE.
3. If I chose the SE degree what other professions could I go for if I end up not liking SE as a full time job? That is would there be just as many doors open as if I were to take the CIS degree?
4. Or should I go for the CIS Masters at one college and a Masters Certificate in SE at the other university?

Below are the two programs.

Carroll University: A liberal arts college that offers a MS SE degree as well as a certificate.
http://www.carrollu....ing/default.asp
UW Parkside: CIS Degree with a SE Track http://green.uwp.edu...er.science/cis/
*Course Descriptions attached*

Attached File(s)

• Attached File  mscis.pdf (487.79K)
    Number of downloads: 16

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: MS CIS with a focus in SE VS MS SE

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is online

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: MS CIS with a focus in SE VS MS SE

Posted 05 June 2014 - 11:38 AM