5 Replies - 298 Views - Last Post: 06 June 2014 - 07:53 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 lcfjoertoft  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 09-July 11

Increase use of resources

Posted 06 June 2014 - 12:11 AM

I have virtual server with Server 2008 R2 with 12 CPU and 32 GB RAM (vSphere).

I have a C# program running every hour to truncate and copy data from a staging DB. When i monitor the resource usage for the copying of data, it uses only one thread @100% for about 6 min. The amount of data copied is about 8 GB and no ETL. It is all enclosed in transactions.

Is there a way to increase resource usage? Is it SQL server 2012 tweak or C# problem?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Increase use of resources

#2 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C.
  • member icon

Reputation: 799
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,495
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Increase use of resources

Posted 06 June 2014 - 03:38 AM

Resource Manager
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 lcfjoertoft  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 09-July 11

Re: Increase use of resources

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:32 AM

I don't see how resource manager can help.

I want the process to use all 12 CPU cores, and RAM to reduce processing time.
I don't believe that it is the discs that is bottlenecking it either. It's SSD discs with 10k IOP's.

BTW it is a dedicated box with only server 2012 running.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C.
  • member icon

Reputation: 799
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,495
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Increase use of resources

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:34 AM

Oh. I thought I read something in there about configuring it to use multiple cpu's. I must have been mistaken .
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9576
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,274
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Increase use of resources

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:39 AM

Make the C# app use multiple tasks.. divvy up the work.. assign to the tasks..

http://msdn.microsof...=vs.110%29.aspx
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 lcfjoertoft  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 09-July 11

Re: Increase use of resources

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:53 AM

Ok, as i suspected. It seems like sub optimal programming.

Thanks for the replies folks :bigsmile:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1