9 Replies - 1381 Views - Last Post: 01 July 2014 - 01:18 PM

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Who has worked with/written software that runs in automobiles?

Posted 26 June 2014 - 01:44 PM

What I'm looking for is someone with practical experience writing/deploying software that runs in an automobile (meaning they or someone they know did/does this kind of thing). I have no idea what the obstacles are to doing such a thing and while I am indeed Googling about it, that's a one way exchange. What I'd like to do is bounce questions off folks who have actually done this and wouldn't mind informing an absolute novice as to concerns, necessities, and so on.

The reason I ask is that during a conversation I had this past weekend on a tangent subject, I had an idea that could be truly helpful and welcome to the automotive industry and everyday drivers. I doubt I'm the first one to have the idea but it's not a feature offered on any vehicle I'm aware of and yet there is a distinct market segment that would find it exceptionally desirable if it was available or if it could be added via some form of third party software add-on to their existing vehicle.

Any actual experience or knowledge about the subject field in general would be most welcome. Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Who has worked with/written software that runs in automobiles?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Who has worked with/written software that runs in automobiles?

Posted 26 June 2014 - 01:55 PM

I looked into MS's automotive a few years back, but never had a testbed to tweak around.

Are you talking about generic addons:

http://www.amazon.co...g/dp/B00D1GJMUE

or more of tinkering with the engine control unit?

Oblig F&F pseudo image.

Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 26 June 2014 - 02:02 PM