C++ working with Integers

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 1773 Views - Last Post: 14 October 2007 - 04:40 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C++ working with Integers

Posted 09 October 2007 - 09:21 PM

I am pretty new at this. I have the basics down, but I can't figure out how to complete this... Read 10 integer numbers from the file 'Project_1_Input.dat', print the numbers
on a single line of output in the order they were read from the file, then print the
same numbers in reverse order on a new line.
The program should expect to find the data file in the default directory.

I think that I am approaching this incorrectly, I can't even get it to compile.

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main( )

/*  */

{

int Project_1_Input = "10" "9" "8" "7" "6" "5" "4" "3" "2" "1"/n 
  "10"9""8""7" "6" "5" "4" "3" "2" "1"
   cout >> Project_1_Input;

system("PAUSE");
	return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C++ working with Integers

• me editor am smartastic
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C++ working with Integers

Posted 09 October 2007 - 09:46 PM

well there are a couple of problems with the code, and what it appears to be trying to do doesn't quite add up with what you are saying you want it to do.

you declare a variable Project_1_Input that you appear to be trying to store a bunch of numbers in. however, an int can only hold a single value - you need to declare it as an array.

if you're trying to output the entire array, you need to display each element of the array individually. using cout with the variable name will output the address of the array. and to use cout, you need to use the stream insertion operator <<, not the extraction operator >>.