10 Replies - 1951 Views - Last Post: 31 July 2014 - 12:22 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

employers want many many skills just to do one job (advice?)

Posted 12 July 2014 - 05:33 PM

Sorry if this is in the wrong section but it's the closest sub forum that matched my question.

I'm basically just looking online for programming jobs and I'm not kidding but I've been through about 100 pages on different websites over the last week or so and EVERY single one of them wants someone who just knows everything. I've been programming Python as a hobby for about 2 years now and I'm quite effectiv and thought I'd start trying to get a job.

Here is an example of a typical job advert that I see.

Junior Python/Java Programmer
To be successful in this position you must possess:

Excellent commercial or personal development experience with Java and Python
Expert level with Html/CSS/Javascript
Strong experience with related databases including Sql Server
Exposure to dynamic languages HTML5, CSS3, Ruby, PHP, OO Javascript, JS Libraries etc
Great communications skills
A true interest for Python and OO development languages.
A very strong, accurate coding ability

I count about 7 different languages here including Python. Ontop of that they want database stuff. I'm not going to post anymore examples but how the hell do you guys get around jobs that require several skills which each take many months, perhaps years of training? I've seen other entry level jobs (junior) that want even more skills like linux experienced CCNA certified etc.

Is it typical for employers to ask for all of this crap but nobody ever actually has it all? So you just tell them what you do have? Basically the perfect candidate would have all of those skills but in reality 99% of applicant won't?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: employers want many many skills just to do one job (advice?)

• It's just been revoked!
  • member icon

• View blog