8 Replies - 925 Views - Last Post: 16 July 2014 - 03:10 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

I need some advice (server side programming)

Posted 14 July 2014 - 06:36 PM

I am currently working on a website that will eventually (when I'm done with html/css) need to make use of and manipulate data from the server and display that information in the browser. Think something along the lines of ratemyprofessors.com. Anyway here is the deal, although I've done my share of html/css design, I've never worked with the server before. I was thinking about doing this in javascript. The reason why I was thinking javascript is because for my next project I want to start learning how to program Oculus Rift which makes use of the Unity engine which is in javascript and figured this webpage would be a good warm up to familiarize myself with the language before diving into the hard stuff. I brought this up with a friend and he said I should do it in PHP and that it'd be easier, then learn javascript later.

All that being said, Im a server side/web "programming" noob and know nothing about it. Im a little confused on how the html meets the programming language and work together, so if anyone has any suggestions as to how to go about accomplishing these goal id really appreciate it. Also if you could provide a book or online resource that could help with this that'd be awesome too. Thanks everyone!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I need some advice (server side programming)

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I need some advice (server side programming)

Posted 14 July 2014 - 08:16 PM

A few things.. first - the lounge isn't the best place for this. Probably the web dev area.

Second - javascript is a client side language, and is not the server side.

Third.. server side would be your php, asp.net, ruby, perl, python, cgi, etc.

I'll move this to web dev for the time being.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Saucy!