1 Replies - 221 Views - Last Post: 29 July 2014 - 10:19 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need advice on a new project

Posted 29 July 2014 - 09:40 PM

This is not really a specific question I guess, but it involves Java, and this seems like a good place to get advice in regards to the issue I've been having. I'm currently a 1st year CS student. I am working on a project for my class and I have a tight deadline (plus I have a full load summer quarter). I don't know much about programming yet, I'm currently 4 weeks into my first programming class (Intro to C), though my introductory CS class did introduce a few basic programming concepts. I am trying to write an application for Android using Java/ADT in Eclipse. I'm really new to this, this quarter I'm learning C, and I'm also learning assembly language, so piling Java on top of the stack (lol) is .. well challenging. I'm wondering what I'm getting into here and where to start I guess. I have a book on Java and I've watched a video of someone making an app in eclipse, but I feel like I'm missing way too many pieces of the puzzle. Ok the app I'm trying to make I thought might be relatively simple (hah). My idea was to create a flash card application, where you can make customizable flash card sets to study from. I have a zillion ideas of things that could be added to it, but right now, I'm just trying to have a very simple interface where they create a "card" with a question and an answer, it's saved to a set, and they can view their saved sets. I'm not asking for anyone to write anything, I just need a general idea of how I might even go about this. I'm also wondering if having a minimally functional program, where I can at least enter in flash card sets and view them is attainable in 1 month with my skill set (or lack of one lol) and time limitations. If it IS attainable, are there any suggestions on how I might go about this? Or just point me in the direction of some sample apps that have similar