6 Replies - 155 Views - Last Post: 30 July 2014 - 02:11 PM

#1 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • Major DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 702
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,027
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:28 PM

I have started learning module and theme development for clients that want a Drupal site. Now, I read an article that Drupal 8 is going to the current OOP style of development and changing how everything works. So, I still need to learn the old way for clients now and then switch to the better way when version 8 hits mainstream.

It's great being a web developer!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Drupal 8

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9277
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:36 PM

Meh.. folks got along well with the first seven major iterations with drupal, and going forward eight will be around for some time... You just happened to jump in during a transitional periods.. clearly your clients fault! ;)

https://www.drupal.o...al-8.0/features

https://www.drupal.org/drupal-8.0
https://www.drupal.o...ate/modules/7/8
http://buytaert.net/...ges-in-drupal-8
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5348
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,305
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:42 PM

I currently admin a few drupal 7 sites & am told by developers that yes, as you put it, drupal 8 is changing a lot.

My suggestion would be if this is going to be a long term customer, than learning drupal 8 would be worth the time investment. If this is going to be a once & done project, I would just use drupal 7.

OOP is getting introduced in drupal 8. Another large change is configurations are being moved out of the database & into yaml files. The changes are then 'staged' rather than instantly committed. This also allows for configuration changes to be pushed through git, rather than having the site break with new git commits & then following with a configuration change through the web UI.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • Major DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 702
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,027
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:46 PM

No shit. Granted I have done a ton of work for them, but their current site is done in WordPress. I have not touched their site before now, mainly doing internal applications and system automation. Now, they want a site redesign and move from the WordPress CMS to a Drupal CMS.

I don't see learning 7 as a detriment. There will be legacy systems until it is unsupported. So, the work will still be there. And until 8 is in place I have time to learn it in my infrequent downtime.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9277
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:52 PM

If I remember right Drupal's got some long term support for their versions.. like 4+ years.. so that's not too bad.. not to mention all the wigets and such need some time be able to port. Lord knows people will lose their mind if FancyPantzMcUnicornHerder widget is not available on 8.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5348
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,305
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:55 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 30 July 2014 - 04:52 PM, said:

If I remember right Drupal's got some long term support for their versions..

You can still download a plethora of Drupal 6 modules from Drupal's website.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9277
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Drupal 8

Posted 30 July 2014 - 02:11 PM

I would imagine those modules are next door to the pinatas..

Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1