How to deal with a failed programming test?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

23 Replies - 10646 Views - Last Post: 03 August 2014 - 08:20 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to deal with a failed programming test?

Posted 01 August 2014 - 06:14 PM

I'm new here so I don't know if this is the right place to ask this question, but I need help with how to deal with failing a programming test during a job application.

I'm quite a sensitive person, not in a bad tempered sort of way, in the way that I beat myself up when I fail.

I had to take a Codility test for a job application a few days ago, I knew I didn't do particularly well as I often choke when asked to write code against the clock knowing I only have one shot. The thing is, I KNOW I can code to a good level, the problem is, I'm not a fantastic mathematician and I sometimes need a little time to work out the maths required to solve a problem or create a working algorithm. I have a degree in software engineering and got a good grade, one classification below the highest. The problem is, I'm very used to coding in my own time, when I'm against the clock, I often choke, my head gets all fuzzy and I don't perform as well as I could.

I'm aware of my flaws and accept them, but I can't help but beat myself up when I fail a programming test.

I scored a 17/100 on the Codility test, which is an awful grade.

I've taken challenges on there before and scored 100% on correctness, but I usually get very low performance marks, which puts a big hit on your grade.