sprite.classList.remove('walk-right');
		} if (key.left === false) {
			sprite.classList.remove('walk-left');
		}
	}

document.addEventListener('keydown', walk, false);
	document.addEventListener('keyup', stop, false);

})();

This question is to do with the variable p and the use of the properties.shift() as I understand it the .shift principle is used to remove the first item of and array and then return that item, so my question is, what is the .shifts purpose here and is there an alternative that is better to use? I am new to JS and would appreciate any help or light in this regard - thanks in advance :)/>

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 07 August 2014 - 05:26 AM
Reason for edit:: Added code tags

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Javascript .shift purpose

#2 BetaWar  Icon User is online

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Javascript .shift purpose

Posted 07 August 2014 - 07:48 AM

Well, look at it in the context it is being used in:
while (p=properties.shift()){

What would you expect it to be doing?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 August 2014 - 08:01 AM

Ok, So am I right in thinking that the properties variable above is the the 'array' the .shift is there as a precaution that if incompatible or there's an issue of some sort it will return as undefined? I am trying to understand the code from all angels so that it really sinks in and I can get to grips with JS, is there any advice to get a better understanding? or is it all down to practice? ~Thanks soo much for all you help it is much appreciated

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 07 August 2014 - 08:46 AM
Reason for edit:: removed previous quote

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 August 2014 - 08:18 AM

is there any advice to get a better understanding? or is it all down to practice?