3 Replies - 535 Views - Last Post: 09 August 2014 - 09:14 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Deppil  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 09-August 14

How to add cut-scenes in your java game

Posted 09 August 2014 - 08:21 AM

Alright so I am working on a project just for fun and I want to know how to add cut scenes to my game. The type of cut scenes that I will be using will be flashbacks. The character doesn't remember anything so he finds orbs which show flashbacks of his life. How would I do that? I want it to be like:

a white flash for a quarter of a second, shows the cutscene, flashes again for a quarter of a second, the player continues his/her journey.

I already have all the animations done, just what do I do to add it to my game.


PLEASE NOTE:

This is just a project for fun, it is not homework. I am new to game development and this is my first game.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to add cut-scenes in your java game

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9091
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,142
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: How to add cut-scenes in your java game

Posted 09 August 2014 - 08:46 AM

One quick way would be to create the setup with some scripts for action, high quality models, etc, record it, and then play that video back as the cut scene.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Deppil  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 09-August 14

Re: How to add cut-scenes in your java game

Posted 09 August 2014 - 09:12 AM

Yeah, I guess so, but how would I do that?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9091
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,142
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: How to add cut-scenes in your java game

Posted 09 August 2014 - 09:14 AM

Add scripting to your game, record it, make high res models, or what? The first is fairly complex, the second - well that's a searchable solution, and the third depends one what you are using for assets.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1