Problem with my website

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

21 Replies - 1760 Views - Last Post: 08 September 2014 - 02:23 PM

#1 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 03:27 PM

I have uploaded my website files but most times when people try to visit the site, it is always showing a NetFirm website under development page. Please what can i do? I really need people to be able to see my website. thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Problem with my website

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6552
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,682
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 04:24 PM

How is an 'under construction' parked page a question related to PHP code?
Second, with no visible url, there is nothing for us to look at.
Above that, we can't view from client side any server configurations.

My suggestion is to call customer support for where your site is hosted, & ask them why there is the under construction page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • Too busy for this
  • member icon

Reputation: 2330
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,381
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 04:26 PM

Have you tried deleting the index page that comes with new hosting?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6552
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,682
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 04:32 PM

View PostBiodun, on 07 September 2014 - 06:27 PM, said:

I have uploaded my website files but most times when people try to visit the site, it is always showing a NetFirm website under development page. Please what can i do? I really need people to be able to see my website. thanks

Wait... MOST TIMES? So does it ever work? Perhaps it's a caching issue. Do you know if your site is using memcache? Do you know if your site is behind a CDN?

So much speculation :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:21 PM

Thank you all for your replies. The website is http://www.dientweb.com. It sometimes loads on my PC when i try to check it and sometimes gives me the under construction page but when others check it elsewhere, they always get the under construction page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • Too busy for this
  • member icon

Reputation: 2330
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,381
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:35 PM

I believe it is a cache issue. I do not get an "Under Construction" page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:39 PM

did you mean the page loaded in your browser?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6552
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,682
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:42 PM

I get the site is under construction.

I again suggest you contact Netfirms.

This topic is in no way related to PHP, moving it to Web Servers & Hosting.

In fact, did you read the text below "under development"??

Quote

This is a default template, indicating that the webmaster has not yet uploaded a Web site to the server.
For information on how to build or upload a site, please visit your web hosting company's site.


I'll also follow this up with the difference between this & this.

Looks to me like you need to setup your .htaccess file to force www to non-www to show the same content. The web server is handling sub-domains differently.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 astonecipher  Icon User is offline

  • Too busy for this
  • member icon

Reputation: 2330
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,381
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:46 PM

An exerp of what I get:

Quote

We are Nigeria's Foremost Web Development and Online Marketing Company.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:48 PM

Everyone here (Web Service & Hosting), please help on this. I have uploaded my files for www.dientweb.com by when people try to visit it, it is always saying that the website is "under development". It displays a NetFirm-website under construction page. What can i do Please?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6552
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,682
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:50 PM

I already answered the problem. Your server handles www vs non-www differently. Contact your web hosting provider if you are unable to fix yourself.

Best of luck!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:51 PM

Thanks a lot astonecipher. Just saw your replies. Please how do i force the .htaccess file. Thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 07:59 PM

I'm very sorry @ no2pencil. I have to keep reloading to see replies. My last reply was actually meant for you. Tried out your links on 'this' and 'this' and could see the difference. Thanks a lot, i really appreciate. How then can i fix this? what lines do i need to adjust on the .htaccess file. Thanks again
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6552
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,682
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 08:03 PM

RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.(.*)$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]



Verified with http://htaccess.madewithlove.be/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Biodun  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 07-September 14

Re: Problem with my website

Posted 07 September 2014 - 08:07 PM

Thanks a lot @ one2pencil. I will let you know how this goes soonest. Thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2