13 Replies - 1255 Views - Last Post: 16 September 2014 - 07:16 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

what does it cost?

Posted 15 September 2014 - 07:11 PM

I work for a small company that repairs computers and sets up networks for small businesses. I am not very technical in this aspect and am here to expand my knowledge in this area. I am however, able to code, and offering my assistance where I can. I've done a couple small projects that have made great returns for me (I get paid minimum wage hourly and am rewarded with half of what my programs are sold for). Most recently, I've built a website for a company that surveys students. This particular program lets students logon with a course key and student ID, and take the survey. The results are stored to a database and then reviewed by a the administrator on the backend. I used html, css, javascript, C#, and SQL to develop it. I spent many hours dealing with the client to have it just the way they wanted it. How much should this client be charged? I think my shop might be charging too much because they know this company is in a bind to have it done. (the old program was in cold fusion and not compatible on the new server, or so i'm told).

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: what does it cost?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: what does it cost?

Posted 15 September 2014 - 07:16 PM

How many billable hours did you put into this? What are the company's expenses in terms of paying you? Who is paying for the hosting? How much profit does your employer wish to make? Start quantifying the variables.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 15 September 2014 - 07:43 PM