5 Replies - 1220 Views - Last Post: 25 September 2014 - 09:18 PM

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

From novice to employed: Which language? About Internships?

Posted 25 September 2014 - 11:14 AM

tl;dr:
1) Which language is in more demand for backend/full stack development Javascript or Ruby? (and also more likely to be able to used by a remote employee)
2) After about 2-3 projects, I'm thinking about emailing startups (weworkremotely.com) to see if I can intern with them. Good idea?

long winded post, lol:

Hi! I'm a long time lurker on the forum. When I first started posting years ago, I was playing around with the idea of programming as a hobby only. Since then a settled down to be a stay at home mom. Now, I'm getting divorced and would like a job that's not in customer service, I'd like to actually become a professional. I'm studying for the Project+ exam and trying to learn about programming as well.

Now, my ex-husband says "Learn Ruby and write your own paychecks!" So, I'm interested in back-end programming since I'm terrible with design (front end, I guess). I've been taking Web Application course at Coursera and currently on the Ruby/JS track at team tree house. They are finishing up a node.js track that should be available soon.

Also, I've had a project rolling around in my head for a long time and figured it would be a good learning exercise since it uses everything I've been learning. It's a RPG game that uses databases for everything (items, characters, etc) and eventually, I'd like to it be a persistent world. It's just a text browser game. I did some research and found that a Javascript full stack would be better because of event handling. (not really sure what that means, yet!)