Page 1 of 1

[WPF] Exploring MVVM (Model View ViewModel) I

#1 andrewsw  Icon User is online

• It's just been revoked!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 September 2014 - 05:55 AM

The MVVM design pattern is favoured, and encouraged, in WPF. I have created a small application to demonstrate and explore this pattern.

Part 2 (there is also a zip file of the application in the second post below)

Many of the examples that I found were too brief. A lot of them have just a TextBox and a Button, and work with a single property. That's fine as a short introduction, but I couldn't find a good example that goes beyond this first stage. In particular, I wanted a fuller example that works with a collection of items, and with different views. Here it is.

Disclaimer: I am still studying this subject myself; I do not (yet) claim to be an expert. You should supplement this tutorial with further study (see the links that follow). Besides, it is a subjective topic, and there are different approaches. Please also read any comments that might be added below the tutorial.

Nevertheless, I believe there is value in this tutorial. It goes beyond the many simple ones you will find, and provides a template (a complete application) that you might use to pursue this subject further.

Here is a preview of our application:

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

This could be considered as a continuation of my tutorial sequence WPF Build An Application. That works with many WPF features towards building a complete application, but without following the MVVM pattern.

This current tutorial doesn't teach WPF, concentrating on the pattern. (I do discuss some WPF features though, and provide links.) If you encounter a feature that you are not familiar with you will probably find it discussed in my earlier tutorial sequence, or in my sequence WPF Build A Window, which introduces many WPF features.