• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 8414 Views - Last Post: 16 October 2014 - 09:40 AM

• Nero

• View blog

So this felt good and I thought I'd share

Post icon  Posted 09 October 2014 - 12:03 PM

POPULAR

Putting this in Corner Cubicle because it happened at work with coworkers on a work related project, etc. It's generally programming-centric but felt this was the appropriate place. Feel free to move if you think there's somewhere more appropriate.

Since I started my current job I've felt like everyone I work with knows so much more than me. I've felt like that's a great thing - it's not a feeling of inadequacy, just an understanding that I'm new to the field and my team is a lot more experienced.

I've gone through several projects this past year and learned quite a bit. Yesterday I was asked to help on a new MVC project. I said sure, and among other tasks I took what existed and split it out into more manageable chunks of code (which is what was asked of me).

I discussed with the lead on this project what they were aiming for, and offered her suggestions based on things I had done previously, to see if she'd like me to implement something similar. I showed her how I was using Razor to call cshtml files inside cshtml files, how I was using the Controller to access those Views from an Ajax call, etc. so the page never has to reload, etc. Anyway, the mechanics of it are beside the point.

Sitting with her I realized something. I just threw all that together from memory. This time last year I had barely touched jQuery or AJAX. Razor was a completely foreign concept to me. MVC was just a design pattern I was passingly familiar with the concept of. I realized I've learned a lot in less than a year, and it's a pretty good feeling.

Have you had a similar experience? Have you had occasion to see yourself do something and be surprised how easily you did it?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 5
  • +

Replies To: So this felt good and I thought I'd share